through the eyes of an enigma… el maèstro

Another Brick


It never ceases to amaze me how life can surprise you. One second you’re mad at the world because nothing is going your way and the next second life flips the script and you seem to be on a roll. When you’re on that bit of wind pushing you up just embrace it willingly and don’t dwell on the negative stuff that happened to you previously.

Strive to be a standout, don’t be a part of the crowd or just another one of “them”.

This piece was written back in May last year and I never published it becauses the final verse never felt quite right. But here it is sans the third verse (still sucks to me). Ladies and gentlemen, I give you:

Another Brick

Why be another brick in the wall
whats the point of living if all
you do is conform
trying so hard to fit in with the crowd
you lose all sense of who you are
Yet here you stand looking at me cross-eyed
simply because I’m living my life
as I see fit, but no apologies
will you from me receive
I’d rather be an outcast
yes I’d rather be a non-conformist

Leave a Reply

